State of West Virginia

wv welcome sign



morganwv mineral county wv hampshire county wv

 The State of West Virginia is divided into 9 regions use our search features to find West Virginia spots of interest.

The nine regions of West Virginia are:

Eastern Panhandle, Hatfield-McCoy Region, Metro Valley, Mid-Ohio Valley, Mountain Lakes, Mountaineer Country, New River/Greenbrier Valley, Northern Panhandle and the Potomac Highlands 

 Our CountySpot Directories provide the best place to find everything West Virginia. If you're looking for: West Virginia Events, West Virginia Coupons, West Virginia Business Directories, West Virginia Photos, West Virginia Information and more, you've found the right place!



State Flag


Statehood: 35th State - June 20, 1863.

State Capitol: Charleston.

State Flower: Rhododendron.

State Bird: Cardnial.

State Motto: Mountaineers are always free.

State Nickname: Mountain State.

State Tree: Sugar Maple.

5 Largest Cities: Charleston, Huntington, Parkersburg, Morgantown, Wheeling.

Border States: Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia


55 Counties of West Virginia: 

Select counties to visit county directory site.

Barbour County
Berkeley County
Boone County
Braxton County
Brooke County
Cabell County
Calhoun County
Clay County
Doddridge County
Fayette County
Gilmer County
Grant County
Greenbrier County
Hampshire County
Hancock County
Hardy County
Harrison County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Kanawha County
Lewis County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Marion County
Marshall County
Mason County
Mercer County
Mineral County
Mingo County
Monongalia County
Monroe County
Morgan County
McDowell County
Nicholas County
Ohio County
Pendleton County
Pleasants County
Pocahontas County
Preston County
Putnam County
Raleigh County
Randolph County
Ritchie County
Roane County
Summers County
Taylor County
Tucker County
Tyler County
Upshur County
Wayne County
Webster County
Wetzel County
Wirt County
Wood County
Wyoming County


Search Articles & Events