Volusia County, Florida

Volusia County (1)Volusia County is located in the east central part of Florida between Flagler and Brevard Counties. Created in 1854 the county is named after the the community of Volusia when they created the new county. Volusia County includes 1,103.25 square miles of land and 329.19 square miles of water. The population of Volusia County was 494,593 according to the 2010 U.S. Census.

The county seat of Volusia County is the city of DeLand, FL. DeLand has a population of about 28,000 people. DeLand is nicknamed “the Athens of Florida”. DeLand is home to Stetson University, which is Florida’s oldest private college. Chipper Jones, a major league baseball player, is from DeLand, FL.

Volusia County is part of the Orlando–Deltona–Daytona Beach, FL Combined Statistical Area. Volusia is also the only county in Florida to be a part of the Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormaond Beach, FL Metropolitan Statistical Area. Volusia County has several state parks within the county. Some of these parks include; Blue Spring State Park, Bulow Creek State Park, De Leon prints State Park, Hontoon Island State Park, North Peninsula State Park and Tomoka State Park. Volusia County has several historical places to visit, some of these are; The Abby, John Anderson Lodge, Anderson-Price Memorial Library, Mary McLeod Bethune Home, Casements Annex, The Casements, Chief Master at Arms House, City Island Ball Park, DeBary Hall, DeLand Hall, Dix House, The Hammocks, Lippincott Mansion, Merchants Bank Building, Old Fort Park Archeological Site, Ormond Fire House, Ormond Hotel, Ormond Yacht Club, Ponce DeLeon Inlet Light Station, The Porches, Stetson University and White Hall.

Volusia County is bordered by Flagler County FL to the North, the Atlantic Ocean to the East, Lake County, FL to the West, and Orange County FL to the South.

Municipalities of Volusia County, FL

Incorporated Cities and Towns of Volusia County, FL

Daytona Beach, Daytona Beach Shores, DeBary, Deland, Deltona, Edgewater, Holly Hill, Lake Helen, New Smyrna Beach, Oak Hill, Orange City, Ormond Beach, Pierson, Ponce Inlet, Port Orange and South Daytona

Unincorporated Towns and Vilages of Volusia County, FL

Alamana, Ariel, Bakerstown, Barberville, Benson Junction, Beresford, Bethune Beach, Blake, Blue Springs Landing, Bluffton, Boden, Cassadaga, Cabbage Bluff, Connersvilee, Conrad, Cow Creek, Creighton, Cypress Lake Estates, Daisy Lake, Daytona Highridge Estates, Daytona Park Estates, Deleon Springs, Deadman Landing, DeLand Highlands, DeLand Southwest, Deleon Springs Heights, Edgewater Junction, Eldora, Eldridge, Ellinor Village, Emporia, Enterprise, Farmton, Fatio, Fort Florida, Glencoe, Glenwood, Halifax Estates, Harbor Oaks, Hucomer, Isleboro, Kalamazoo, Lake Ashby Shores, Lemon Bluff, Maytown, Mission City, Mound Grove, National Gardens, North DeLand, Orange City Hills, Ormond-By-The-Sea, Ortona, Osteen, Packwood Place, Pennichaw, Riverside, Samsula, Seabreeze, Senyah, Seville, Stone Island, Sugar Mill Estates, Tallahassee Yuchi, Tomoka Estates, Valdez, Volusia, West DeLand and Wilber-By-The-Sea

External Links for Voulsia County FL:
Official County Site - http://www.volusia.org   

Search Articles & Events