Duval County, Florida

Duval County is located in the north eastern part of Florida between Nassau and St. Johns Counties. Created in 1822 the county is named after William Pope Duval. Mr. Duval was the Governor of the Florida Territory from 1822 to 1834. Duval County includes 773.67 square miles of land and 144.57 square miles of water. The population of Duval County was 864,263 according to the 2010 U.S. Census.

The county seat of Duval County is the city of Jacksonville FL. Jacksonville has a population of about 840,000 people. Jacksonville is the largest populated city in Florida. Jacksonville is also the 12th most populated city in the United States. Jacksonville is home to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay. Jacksonville is home to numerous sports team like the Jacksonville Jaguars and the Jacksonville Suns.

Duval County is part of the Jacksonville Metropolitan Statistical Area. Duval County is home to the Fort Caroline National Memorial and the Timucuan Ecological and Historical Preserve. Duval County has several historical places to visit, some of these are; Atlantic Bank Annex, Avondale District, Brewster Hospital, Napoleon Bonaparte Broward House, Carling Hotel, Casa Marina Hotel, Catherine Street Fire Station, Cummer Gardens, Epping Forest, Florida Theater, Fort Caroline National Memorial, Kingsley Plantation, Masonic Temple, Plaza Hotel, Red Bank Plantation, St. John’s Lighthouse and Yellow Bluff Fort.

Duval County is bordered by Nassau County FL to the North, the Atlantic Ocean to the East, Baker County FL to the West, and St. Johns County FL to the South.

Municipalities of Duval County, FL

Incorporated Cities and Towns of Duval County, FL

Jacksonville, Jacksonville Beach, Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach and Baldwin

External links for Duval County FL:
Official County Site - https://www.duvalclerk.com 

Search Articles & Events